Industry Research

In thinking about how I’m going to present myself to employers, I began by researching who those employers may be, and how they present themselves as companies. In my previous post, I clarified that I would love an experience similar to my time with MU/DAI, but I’m very aware that there are many companies that do similar work.

There were a few things I was paying particular attention to in this research:

  1. Firstly, if their approach and design values aligned with mine. This gave me an idea if I would be a good fit for the company.
  2. Secondly, I paid attention to how they present their brand and the tone of their copy. Having an awareness of this, gives me an idea of the tone that I should be presenting my own work with.

I searched through a range of different sites, and broke down some of the videos into areas of interest.

Specific Company Research

Snook (2016) – Service Design

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.30.58.png

Snook is a service design company who use user centered design to improve organizations. Their approach and company values have always impressed me; they work for both small business and large bodies, like the Department of Health, using design to make things better.

Their tone and branding is clear and straight to the point. They do not saturate their copy with buzz words. Instead they use terms that anyone can understand. This is a great example of a clear message, and something that I would like to reflect in my own work.

Truth Labs (2016)

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.45.17.png

Truth Labs is a Chicago based company who are very similar to MU/DAI; they create digital products to make people’s lives easier. Similar to Snook, Truth Labs take on a clear message, which I find to be the most effective design in these kinds of sites. I like to be told exactly what they do and not have to search for it. In my site, I want to do that too.

Process Driven

The site breaks down its case studies to explain the process to get from A to B; a process that is very close to the design process we have been taught in university. This is an approach that I could potentially use on my site, to demonstrate that I could slot into a company like this.

Method (2015)

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.57.45.png

Method are another example of a great digital product studio. Their website has a content heavy structure, using grids of content to communicate a little about who they are as soon as the viewer reaches the homepage.

Similar to Truth Labs, Method share their process through each case study they present.

Fjord

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 12.47.46.png

Fjord presents themselves as a “design and innovation consultancy that re-imagines people’s relationships with the digital and physical world around them.”

What interests me in Fjord is the range of products and services that they are open to. They do not limit themselves to only digital challenges, they use design for everything.

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 12.47.34.png

Last semester, I wrote my dissertation on “Service Design Thinking: An evaluation into how design thinking holds an important role in the creation and improvement of everyday public services.” Fjord uses design through every area in their company, which is something that I would love to be a part of.

Reflections

After evaluating and studying the company websites, I have started to see a number of trends that are appearing that I would like to carry through in my work.

In the Truth Labs and Snook site, there is an extremely clear message. Both companies state who they are and what they do, with language that is easy to understand. The case studies are selective; they do not choose to show everything, just the best work. Many of these companies present their best work, but also present their processes. The process is obviously an important part of who a company is, and how they think.

These same principles would lend themselves well to my presentation, as I begin to construct my brand for the end of the year. Over the next few weeks, I’ll be taking these into account as I move forward with the copywriting, design and development of my website.

Citations

Snook (2016) About. Glasgow: Snook. Available from: http://wearesnook.com/about/ [Accessed 01/03/2016].

Truth Labs (2016) Home. Chicago: Truth Labs. Available from: http://truthlabs.com/ [Accessed 03/03/2016].

Method (2015) Chicago: method. Available from: http://method.com/ [Accessed 01/03/2016].

Fjord (2016) Home. Fjord. Available from: https://www.fjordnet.com [Accessed 02/03/2016].

Leave a Reply

