Testing Overlays

In ‘Shadows’, Rams Pocket Radio sing about hiding from the light in shadows of darkness, referring to the fear of the individual’s ability to fulfil their potential or “what they were born to do”.  I want to find  way to represent this darkness at the start of my short so have been testing how to overlay different clips. I didn’t want to always reduce the opacity of my videos and rotoscoping is a very time consuming process so I have been investigating other methods. I shot some footage of thorns and branches, to symbolise the harsh side of darkness and then keyed out the sky. I then tested the overlay with a shot I had taken in the summer.

Leave a Reply

